Skip to content

On the Accusation of “Self-Righteousness”

December 27, 2016

I could have written this myself. Thank you Barbara for saying it for me.

Mercy for all Animals

woman-pointing-fingerPeople who fight for causes are not unfamiliar with being labeled “self-righteous”.

In fact, we hear it all the time, ad nauseum.

Being accused of self righteousness is to be expected, though, as much as it is painful to hear.

That’s because someone fighting for justice is going to ruffle a LOT of feathers.

People don’t like to think they might be wrong about something.

I don’t like it much, either.

When I confronted my own hypocrisy–saying I loved animals but still eating animal products that were derived from cruelty and death–it was not a nice reflection in the mirror.

Funny thing is that I never felt the message of veganism was “self-righteous” simply because I knew it was coming from people who were not motivated by ego or self-satisfied smugness–they were (and are) genuinely horrified by the way animals are treated all around the world and wanted to get…

View original post 339 more words

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Thank you so much for re-blogging this, my friend. 🙂

    • You are most welcome – you so often speak for me, so thank you for being such a diligent blogger.

Leave a Reply

