Skip to content

Is raising a child vegan a form of indoctrination?

July 27, 2015

Thank you, Adrian, I could not have said this better myself.

Adrain on Society

“I don’t deserve it. I haven’t earned it. You don’t earn other people’s wife’s fur coats!”

So said an irate Whoopi Goldberg in the film Sister Act. She had received the fur coat as a gift from her married lover, only to discover that it had been pinched from his wife’s closet and hastily re-gifted. Whereupon her friend and colleague, who bore witness to this unpleasant discovery, suggested that she keep the coat, being the more deserving party.

The reason this quote stands out in my memory from a film I watched some time ago is, I think, because it sheds an amusing light on our concept of entitlement. The idea that something that no one would reasonably want could somehow become, not merely desirable, but actually deserved, stuck with me. Since then, I have encountered many circumstances in everyday life where entitlements we hold dear have been defended…

View original post 1,538 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

