Skip to content

Close to home…

May 21, 2015

The horrific cost of cheap chicken and the ‘entitlement’ to meat every day, more than once a day. Truly, if you really won’t attempt veganism, for whatever unacceptable reason you choose to dredge up, please, please at least stop eating so much animal flesh! Have a care for the planet and human health, if you can’t give a toss about cruelty to other animals. Please.

Are there chicken sheds in heaven?

I grew up in rural Herefordshire, entrenched deep in its farming community.  So this article strikes a very poignant chord for me as it goes to the heart of one of the hardest conflicts I have being a vegan with my background.  How can I be comfortable with and respect my friends and family who make a living doing something I intrinsically believe is cruel and wrong?  A lot of my farming friends are sadly turning to this form of factory farming of chickens in order to try and stay financially afloat.  I have huge sympathy for how hard farmers are finding it to make a living – especially the potato and dairy farmers, many of whom are going under all over the UK or having to diversify away from what they have done for generations.  But does that excuse them turning to such a depraved method of farming?  Who am I to think badly…

View original post 1,306 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

