Skip to content

Why Vegan?

May 9, 2015

Most of my family don’t understand about going vegan and my Mum makes me feel I am lacking in compassion to her by even trying to discuss it with her. I hate that she isn’t vegan too, but thinks that cruelty to donkeys, dogs and cats is dreadful. I wish I’d been raised vegan. It’s truly despicable what happens to animals in our world. 2000 a second killed for people to eat. That. to me, is a huge crime. I wish I had never been part of that killing machine. I wish I’d had the courage to challenge it and opt out when my children were young. I regret my past animal killing days. I’m sorry I can’t wipe them away and start again and do better. I’m sorry for all the pain and suffering I supported. I wish the rest of my family and all my friends would understand, and care enough about me, to listen and try to do the same. For love of me, if not for compassion on defenceless animals. For any reason, just that they would stop supporting animal farming. I wish, I wish, I wish.

Are there chicken sheds in heaven?

A ‘vegan’ is someone who chooses to avoid using or consuming animal products.  So no meat, dairy or eggs.  Vegans try and avoid buying any animal fur, real leather, wool, angora, alpaca, silk and down.  They will try and avoid any cosmetics, beauty and cleaning products that have any animal derivatives in them or which have been tested on animals.

So the big question – Why?

question

My biggest fear about ‘coming out’ as a vegan was how my mother was going to take it.  I was desperately worried that she would take it as a personal insult and a rejection of her values and the way in which she raised us, which it absolutely is not.  So to soften the blow, I decided to write her a letter.

Here’s what I wrote…

Dearest Mother,

I am writing to you because I am too scared to tell you what I am about to tell you in person!  I…

View original post 2,707 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

