Skip to content

An appeal to nonvegans who understand privilege

April 17, 2015

I am, indeed, privileged to be able to choose not to exploit,and cause to be killed, other sentient beings so I can eat their flesh. My ancestors may very well not have had this privilege to behave morally towards defenceless animals, but I do, because I live in the 21st century, in a global economy, with access to many alternatives to flesh and other products from living animals, to put on my dinner plate. It is my privilege to listen to and follow my heart, recognising that morality and ethics demand that I act benignly towards those in my power. I do not have to be a slave to appetites and old ideas, I have the choice to be free, and that is, indeed, a privilege. One that anyone with a computer to read this, also has in abundance.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

