Skip to content

Piggy Worship

September 16, 2014

Below is a link to a page that will give you some wonderful reasons to love pigs.

http://www.onegreenplanet.org/animalsandnature/phenomenal-reasons-to-love-pigs/

Pigs, if they knew about us, would love vegans. We want to put people off bacon, ham and sausages and explain that these are not food in any sense, they are the evidence of how dis-connected we are to our innate empathy. Sausages are in strings because once they were made from intestines – they were innards stuffed with something. We can have vegan sausages, there’s no need to miss out on a hot dog. Let us all love living pigs not their cooked, dead flesh.

When I was at work, many years ago before I had my family and became a stay at home Mum, I had a poster of a group of pigs. They were all covered in mud. I saw the poster on sale in a shop called Athena. I don’t know if it still exists, I don’t seem to see it around now, it was one of those arty, crafty places a bit like  Clintons. Perhaps Clintons took over the niche. I have always liked pigs, even though I ate pork for most of my life. I look back on that now and think ‘how very odd that I did that and yet I said I loved pigs?’

I am surrounded by stuffed toy pigs. I’ve been collecting them for years. There is my cushion pig, called Cushpig (what else??!) and he even fronts my Twitter and Facebook accounts, and there are many others, large and small.  I have a calendar I cannot bear to throw away, although it is from 3 years ago – it has adorable piggy pictures on it. So I have torn away the date and keep the pictures, using a free calendar underneath it for the date part. The pigs obscure the pictures on the other calendar, which are, mostly, just dull compared to the piggy characters I love.

I have only been vegan for about 2 years. Before that I wasn’t even vegetarian, apart from long ago, pre-marriage, for a few years in the 1970s.

In the 1980s, along with my husband, came all the ‘free range’, welfare farming ideas and the delusion we call ‘humane slaughter’. I was vegetarian when I bought my piggy poster. I expect this group of porcine beauties were actually on a factory farm – it is unlikely a group like this would have been anywhere else in those days. I slid gradually off the vegetarian wagon, allowing myself to believe all this ‘welfarist’ propaganda and comforting myself with the myths it created, of happy animals who did not suffer unduly when they were killed. This enabled me to fit in with my new extended family of meat loving in laws and to raise our children in an atmosphere of pleasantness, not arguments, around the dining table. I put my ethics on some sort of slow back burner. Can you do that if you truly care about an issue? Was I wrong to put my family before every other consideration? Wrong or not, this is what I did. Sometimes I feel regret that I did not make more of an ethical stand over what we ate, sometimes I think I was weak and lazy about it, doing what was expedient and feel less than proud of that. Other times I realise that such regrets are useless. We cannot alter the past, only go forward.

Pigs and chickens seem to be the worse treated animals in all the farming sector; the most abused, and the most genetically manipulated for weight gain. Walk down the aisles at Iceland and you will see packets of frozen legs, thighs, wings, loins, slices of back and hams, all from animals kept in factory conditions, pieces of meat while they are still living, seen as nothing more than a commodity to be turned into a profit. Cheap meat is someone’s horrific suffering sanitised and conveniently hidden from view.

These ‘absent referents’ of the lump of protein on somebody’s plate are living, breathing creatures who feel pain as we do, have emotions like fear and joy, and a fierce desire to stay alive, just like every wild creature ever born. No animal gives up life easily or willingly.

Anyone who eats meat, dairy and eggs really should be brave and honest enough to watch this:

If you know that you cannot possibly watch this film, then you already know in your heart that slaughter is terrible and that you are uncomfortable with being a participant in it, and if you know that, you should be transitioning to veganism.

There is no humane way to kill a creature who does not want to die – a healthy, young animal like a lamb, calf or pig. Even the ‘old’ cows and hens from the dairy and egg industries are not really old, just ‘past optimum production’ and they don’t go happily, calmly and willingly to their deaths either.

It is lovely when you see animals who most people think of as just something you turn into food or clothes living the good life of pampered pet or sanctuary resident. These individuals are as rare and they are beautiful. They give me hope of a change of heart growing within us, a rising up of a new consciousness that is well overdue in us, something that has been ‘squashed down deep and buried’ for so long that we hardly have known it was in us until the voice of veganism began to rise.

The movement is only 70 years old, a fledgling thing, but far from fragile.  Like all moral awakenings, it is being mightily resisted by the powers that stand to lose most by its flowering – the animal farming sector and all the infrastructure built upon it over the millennia of our history of usage of other animals. David, in the biblical story, took his sling shot and with one well aimed stone slew the mighty Philistine giant, Goliath. So it will be one day with veganism – the giant of carnism will be vanquished. Love conquers all in the end. This is my belief and hope, this is my faith.

‘Blessed are those who hunger and thirst after righteousness, for they shall be filled’. (Gospel of Matthew).

Veganism is just and right.

And here is one of my favourite pigs:

https://www.facebook.com/estherthewonderpig

And another:

https://www.facebook.com/faithathopefield

Please enjoy  these lovely, living pigs and all their character and antics, and start, today, removing yourself from the animal exploiting industries.

Vegan living is true love of pigs and all other sentient earthlings.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Reblogged this on iliketowritewhatithink and commented:

    I am adding another link to this blog:-

    http://modernfarmer.com/2014/03/pigheaded-smart-swine/

Leave a Reply

