Skip to content

A Squirrel at the Window

March 19, 2012

This morning when I opened the bedroom curtains, a squirrel was sitting on the sill. It looked as if it were dozing in the early morning sun. It is the closest I have ever been to a grey squirrel. It appeared quite unfazed by me on the other side of the glass and did not even jump when I tapped on the pane.

I have ivy growing up the house wall and know there are robins nesting in a corner of it between the house and the fence. I’ve seen them flitting in and out with leaves and grass in their beaks. Maybe the squirrel has seen them too and was sitting reflecting on how to locate that nest. I know they like eggs, and even baby birds, for breakfast. Such is Nature.  But I’ll protect those robins if I can.

Keeping out the neighbourhood cats is quite a task; squirrels are even more difficult to discourage. But I admit I’m a bird lover and a bit sentimental  for a wildlife enthusiast. Chris Packham is more laid back at the sight of a fledgeling being eaten by a nest raider, than I can ever be.

It was quite amusing to have a squirrel at my window today, but I am not fooled by its cuteness into seeing it as harmless. Like all creatures it is ever on the search for food. My robins are far from safe in their nest in my ivy; no wonder they pause and look around before diving into the foliage. Many eyes are watching them; nowhere is without its dangers. An unguarded moment could mean death.

Grey squirrels are not native to the UK, of course, and are responsible for the decline of the reds. They have become a serious pest in some areas, and are culled. They thrive in urban areas, where they steal from bird feeders, performing all sorts of tricks and acrobatics to get at the food. Resourceful creatures; no wonder they abound.

But I am watching you, Squirrel, and If I have any way of doing so, I shall prevent you from getting at the robins’ nest.

This morning I opened the window and alarmed my bushy-tailed visitor eventually. It leapt away, and I imagine I saw a look of surprise cross its face. If it returns tomorrow, I shall do the same again, in hope that it will prefer to keep away from the ivy beneath my window and go find its food elsewhere – peanuts are quite good enough. Why does it want my robins’eggs?

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Like you, i am not naive when it comes to the ways of wildlife – such is nature, as you say. But I will watch with interest what happens to your robins. i hope you beat the marauders on this occasion – peanuts will do ’em no harm ..

    • I don’t feed the squirrels – but the neighbours do, by putting out birdfood in unprotected feeders. The squirrels are entertaining in their antics as they attempt to get at the food. However, feeding them really only increases their numbers and does not stop them raiding nests, anymore than well fed, domestic moggies stop killing birds.

Leave a Reply

